When you tap on any update in the main feed, the keyboard will appear and you can leave a reply. Replies get appended to the bottom of the update you click on, so they'll stay organized and associated with the content they're referring to. 


When you reply to someone's update, they will receive a notification. If other people have also left replies on that update, they too will get a notification that a new reply was created.